Facebook and libraries

Tuesday’s class was great. We had lots of discussion about the virtues of Facebook, and some great interaction on the perceived problems with the platform. And yet, despite the examples of ‘Facebook gone wrong’ I’m pretty sure that the majority of us checked our news feed that evening. That’s the thing about Facebook – we might talk about quitting, but we don’t ever seem to really get around to doing it (and some question whether we should – this and this – for instance).

Luckily, we are looking at how libraries use Facebook. David Lee King highlights the importance of conversation in this piece about the Topeka Public Library. This article suggests that despite its flaws, access to such a large user base makes Facebook a valuable resource for libraries. And this great resource points out that while social media is not going away any time soon, libraries need a strategic plan if they really hope to connect with their communities.

I’ve mentioned quite a few times that I like to keep Facebook personal. I tried receiving library info via that platform but it just didn’t work for me. Facebook, for me, is about family and friends (and editing information so that it is suitable for family and friends). I’m interested to know what you think. Is Facebook that platform for you? Is it the one and only place for all your information needs? Did you ‘like’ any of the libraries from the list we look at in class? Are you, even now, getting awesome updates from libraries interspersed between baby pictures and Aunty Joan’s scone recipe?

Let me know.

 

***Extra resources for those who feel like torturing themselves so inclined***

One thought on “Facebook and libraries

  1. Regarding the discussion about FB on Tuesday, what struck me the most was hearing all of my old fears being voiced. Prior to embracing FB I was just as trepidatious. I had heard all the horror stories of account hacking and ID theft and, for several years, fought the beckonings of friends to sign up. I had no idea the privacy settings could be adjusted and tightened to the degree that they can. Of course, now I am an addict and there is no going back.

    I agree that it is a personal experience. I, too, *like* far too many pages and the Newsfeed needs some level of regular management. It can quickly become an unruly mess of unwanted information and the occasional culling is required.

    The only library page I adopted after the Tuesday class was the Victoria and Albert Museum. It is very well produced with an excellent understanding of the viewing audience, or perhaps the visiting public that it wishes to entice to its doors. Stunning photos of some of the world’s most amazing objects will always be welcome content in my feed.

Leave a Reply

